The National Alliance for Action on Alcohol is a national coalition of health and community organisations from across Australia that has been formed with the goal of reducing alcohol-related harm.

Currently comprising major organisations with an interest in alcohol and public health, the formation of NAAA represents the first time such a broad-based alliance has come together to pool their collective expertise around what needs to be done to address Australia’s drinking problems.

NAAA aims to put forward evidence-based solutions with a strong emphasis on action.


There is an urgent need for effective, evidence-based and coordinated action to challenge Australia’s harmful drinking.

One in five Australians aged 14 years and above drink alcohol at short-term risky/high-risk levels at least once a month. This equates to more than 42 million occasions of binge drinking in Australia each year.

The cost to the Australian community from alcohol-related harm is estimated to be more than $15 billion a year.

An estimated 40 per cent of all people detained by police attributed their offence to alcohol consumption.

On average, one in four hospitalisations of young people aged 15–24 years occurs because of alcohol.

Heavy drinking at a young age can also adversely affect brain development and is linked to alcohol-related problems later in life.


NAAA is an alliance of health, law enforcement and community organisations that works primarily in the policy arena as a network with enabling and supporting roles.

The current Co-Chairs of NAAA are Ms Jane Martin, Executive Manager of the Obesity Policy Coalition (OPC) and Alcohol and Obesity Policy at Cancer Council Victoria, and Dr John Crozier, Chair of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons Trauma Committee.

NAAA is administered by an Executive Officer who acts as the organisation’s day-to-day contact.

The NAAA’s activities are planned and coordinated by an Executive Committee which meets quarterly, comprising it co-chairs and:

  • Dr Dennis Young, Healthy Options Australia
  • Ms Julia Stafford, Public Health Advocacy Institute of WA
  • Dr Diana Egerton-Warburton, Australasian College of Emergency Medicine
  • Ms Anne Russell, Russell Family Fetal Alcohol Disorders Association
  • Mr Michael Thorn, Foundation for Alcohol Research and Education
  • Professor Kypros Kypri, School of Medicine and Public Health, University of Newcastle
  • Ms Erin Lalor, Alcohol and Drug Foundation
  • Mr Terry Slevin, Public Health Association of Australia
  • Ms Rebecca Roennfeldt (ex officio as Executive Officer)

Applications for membership of NAAA are open to organisations and should be made to NAAA’s Executive Officer.

Guests are permitted at meetings if agreed by members.

NAAA is not intended to replace any of the current organisations nor constrain members’ activities in any way, other than with respect to the conditions of membership, which are:

Members will have no direct financial relationship with the alcohol industry or any of its organisations and the alcohol industry shall have no role in policy development within member organisations.